Top 200 Christian blogs

This is a list of top Christian blogs and micro-bloggers (who tweet in English) organized by the number of Twitter followers

NB You can READ THIS LIST on Twitter or follow those you want to

There has been a lot more interest and discussion than usual about the recent release of the Church Relevance Top 200 Christian Blogs list, which I am fortunate to have once again featured in. Some commented on the fact that the methodology of constructing any such list inevitably leads to some notable omissions.  Others, including Ed Stetzer and Rachel Held Evans commented specifically on the absence of women bloggers (and Frank Viola posted his own Top Ten Christian Women Blogs).

So I thought I would share a Top Christian Blogs list with a difference.  This list is ranked by another measure of influence that as far as I can see the other lists dont measure: Number of Twitter followers. Interestingly I found almost nobody in the top blog lists who didn’t also Tweet, and the vast majority of them post all their blog posts as links to their Twitter feed (usually automatically).  If you run a blog and don’t do that yet, its time you sort that out!  I did add some blogs not in the Church Relevance List, as well as including some who seemed too low on his list.  I made note of all the comments in posts linked above (for example everyone Frank Viola’s list are included in this one), and looked at some other lists of popular blogs, as well as people that I follow on Twitter. To try and catch a few people I missed, I did look at Klout.com and Commun.it.  But it is inevitable that I must have missed some people out, and for that I am sorry, feel free to let me know who is missing!

I have renamed this post as “Top Christian blogs and micro-bloggers” in recognition of the fact that some of the people on this list don’t actually blog as such. Most of them write articles relatively frequently, however, and even those who don’t probably should be bloggers, and use Twitter as though it is the micro-blogging tool it really is. If you are looking for a list with a more rigorous definition of what it is to be a blogger try the following, and add yourself there if you are missing: http://www.invesp.com/blog-rank/Christianity

You may also want to read my follow up post about how we should handle our feelings when considering such a list and our position on it, entitled On having an area of influence and not comparing yourself with others.

This list demonstrates that the other measures of blog influence do not always correlate with Twitter follower counts.  No doubt as time goes on and more and more people get onto Twitter this may change.  You will note that there are no links below, which is because I have created a Twitter List which you can either subscribe to, or go through and follow the ones you like.  If you don’t yet have Twitter, now is a great time to start, and just like reading blogs, you can read without feeling under obligation to write if that is what you prefer!

If you are on Twitter and don’t find yourself in my list, never fear, here is a list of 500 Christian Twitter accounts I have also handpicked over the months to form a list that I read much more often than my main Twitter feed.  Lists are a great feature to help people stay on top of their Twitter accounts in my view!  Without further ado, here is my Top 200 list, updated thanks to the support of the excellent folks at www.nextanalytics.com:

The Top Christian Blogs and micro-bloggers ranked by Twitter Followers

1 Joyce Meyer JoyceMeyer 1791383
2 Benedict XVI Pontifex 1578151
3 Joel Osteen JoelOsteen 1406619
4 Rick Warren RickWarren 895511
5 Max Lucado MaxLucado 671174
6 John C Maxwell JohnCMaxwell 633159
7 John Piper JohnPiper 441942
8 Mark Driscoll PastorMark 342867
9 Louie Giglio louiegiglio 331617
10 Darlene Zschech DarleneZschech 312338
11 Beth Moore BethMooreLPM 273477
12 AndyStanley AndyStanley 261570
13 Brian Houston BrianCHouston 244950
14 jesusculture jesusculture 231368
15 Matt Chandler MattChandler74 195174
16 Mumford & Sons MumfordAndSons 192317
17 Judah Smith judahsmith 177701
18 Michael Hyatt MichaelHyatt 172987
19 Desiring God desiringgod 152536
20 Donald Miller donaldmiller 150153
21 Natalie Grant NatalieGrant 147764
22 aheartforgod aheartforgod 143821
23 Jon Acuff JonAcuff 143231
24 Steven Furtick stevenfurtick 142680
25 Scott Williams ScottWilliams 141003
26 Bill Hybels BillHybels 128425
27 Sidney Mohede SidMohede 120124
28 Christine Caine ChristineCaine 116089
29 Rob Bell realrobbell 114697
30 Pete Wilson pwilson 112162
31 Compassion Intl compassion 110232
32 Ron Edmondson RonEdmondson 102211
33 Michael Minot MichaelMinot 101838
34 Christianity Today CTmagazine 98772
35 Thom Rainer ThomRainer 94835
36 Paul Washer paulwasher 84535
37 Perry Noble perrynoble 83370
38 Ed Stetzer edstetzer 82655
39 Priscilla Shirer PriscillaShirer 81339
40 Bill Johnson billjohnsonBJM 80423
41 Rev. Bosco Peters Liturgy 74989
42 James MacDonald jamesmacdonald 69433
43 theResurgence theResurgence 67125
44 Joshua Harris HarrisJosh 66257
45 The Gospel Coalition TGC 65718
46 Thangluai Family TheGodTweeter 65342
47 Nicky Gumbel nickygumbel 60084
48 Tullian Tchividjian PastorTullian 55439
49 albertmohler albertmohler 55370
50 Billy Graham BillyGraham 52246
51 Ann Voskamp AnnVoskamp 51385
52 Marie Wikle spreadingJOY 50687
53 Anthony Evans AnthonyEvansJr 48079
54 Lee Strobel LeeStrobel 43037
55 FUTURE Patrick Dixon patrickdixon 42544
56 Grace to You gracetoyou 41980
57 Hugh Freeze CoachHughFreeze 41221
58 Real Talk Ministries RealTalkWarrior 40980
59 John Gray RealJohnGray 40756
60 Mike Friesen mike__friesen 39534
61 Brian Johnson brianjohnsonM 38362
62 Bobby Hughes BobbyHughes5 36489
63 Chris Hodges Chris_Hodges 34477
64 Jenn Johnson JennJohnson20 33126
65 Ligonier Ministries Ligonier 32988
66 Rachelle Gardner RachelleGardner 31403
67 Kurt Willems KurtWillems 30237
68 Mattie Montgomery ForTodayMattie 29293
69 Frank Braswell FBRASWELL 28700
70 C.J. Mahaney CJMahaney 28157
71 Shane Claiborne ShaneClaiborne 27263
72 Carlos Whittaker loswhit 27207
73 Matt Carter _Matt_Carter 26974
74 Vicky Beeching vickybeeching 26933
75 Dr. David Anderson AndersonSpeaks 26548
76 Leonard Sweet lensweet 26016
77 Brian D. McLaren brianmclaren 24616
78 Kathryn Jean Lopez kathrynlopez 24196
79 challies challies 23234
80 Kay Warren KayWarren1 22932
81 Stovall Weems stovallweems 22428
82 Jeff Goins JeffGoins 22345
83 Acts 29 Network Acts29 22114
84 Greg Surratt gregsurratt 21687
85 Kevin DeYoung RevKevDeYoung 21644
86 Bristol Palin BristolsBlog 20736
87 Rachel Held Evans rachelheldevans 20341
88 Justin Welby ABCJustin 20265
89 Alan Hirsch alanhirsch 19971
90 N. Catholic Register NCRegister 19970
91 BetweenTwoWorlds between2worlds 19876
92 Stacy Lynn Harp StacyHarp 19797
93 Frank Viola FrankViola 19612
94 ►PTS◄ Pastor_TimSmith 19472
95 New Advent newadvent 19456
96 Tony Campolo TonyCampolo 19240
97 Bob Kauflin bkauflin 19223
98 Anita Mathias AnitaMathias1 18798
99 Willie George Willie_George 18502
100 9Marks 9MarksOnline 17567
101 Jonathan Hulton JonathanHulton 16804
102 Phil Munsey philmunsey 16349
103 Joe (J.R.) Miller  jrmiller777 15989
104 Eric Mason pastoremase 15829
105 Abraham Piper abrahampiper 15655
106 JenHatmaker JenHatmaker 15614
107 Rick Bezet rick_bezet 15399
108 Burk Parsons BurkParsons 14263
109 Kent Shaffer kentshaffer 13936
110 Fr. John Zuhlsdorf fatherz 13821
111 Thomas Peters AmericanPapist 13805
112 Mark McIntyre mhmcintyre 13729
113 Trevin Wax TrevinWax 13351
114 Bob Roberts Jr. bobrobertsjr 13325
115 Larry Stockstill larrystockstill 13238
116 Adrian Warnock adrianwarnock 13007
117 Douglas Wilson douglaswils 12287
118 ActiveChristianMedia activechristian 12042
119 Matt Fry mattfry 11942
120 Michelle Shaeffer MichelleShaeffr 11815
121 Frank Turek Frank_Turek 11714
122 The Daily Spurgeon dailyspurgeon 11407
123 Ray Ortlund rayortlund 11192
124 DJ Wade-O djwadeo 10817
125 Jeremy Myers jeremyers1 10815
126 joechampion joechampion 10405
127 Phil Johnson Phil_Johnson_ 10297
128 Paul Scanlon paulscanlonuk 10197
129 Joshua Becker joshua_becker 10146
130 Kem Meyer kemmeyer 9651
131 Rocco Palmo roccopalmo 9632
132 Religion News religionnews 9502
133 Tony Perkins tperkins 9255
134 Jim Daly DalyFocus 9127
135 Mari-Anna Stålnacke flowingfaith 9028
136 Tony Jones jonestony 9015
137 Andy Crouch ahc 8901
138 Rob Ketterling robketterling 8829
139 Nadia Bolz-Weber Sarcasticluther 8819
140 Religion Today religiontoday 8798
141 Lambeth Palace lambethpalace 8396
142 Leadership Journal Leadership_Jnl 8393
143 PJ Smyth PJ_Smyth 8385
144 mike mmattinglyjr 8318
145 Terry Virgo TerryVirgo 8261
146 Herbert Cooper herbertcooper 7943
147 Thabiti Anyabwile ThabitiAnyabwil 7926
148 Derwin L. Gray DerwinLGray 7917
149 Wayne Hilsden WayneHilsden 7736
150 ChurchMarketingSucks cmsucks 7575
151 Steve Timmis STimmis 7545
152 Jon Tyson JonTyson 7528
153 Tim Brister timmybrister 7432
154 Sr CatherineWybourne Digitalnun 7357
155 James White DrOakley1689 7338
156 DJ Chuang djchuang 7307
157 Darren Canning darrencanning 7268
158 davegibbons davegibbons 7266
159 Adrian Rogers AdrianRogers 6883
160 Jennifer Fulwiler conversiondiary 6876
161 Alan Knox alan_knox 6738
162 Patheos Patheos 6620
163 Joe Thorn joethorn 6198
164 Reformation21 Reformation21 6119
165 Jeff Vanderstelt JeffVanderstelt 6115
166 ARC Churches weplantlife 6098
167 La Shawn La_Shawn 6021
168 GetReligion GetReligion 5932
169 Dana McCallian Byers danalbyers 5678
170 Duke Taber taberstruths 5677
171 ChurchLeaders.com ChurchLead 5676
172 GaryDavidStrattonPhD GaryDStratton 5675
173 krish kandiah krishk 5672
174 Tony Reinke TonyReinke 5562
175 Henry Neufeld hneufeld 5540
176 Sarah Bessey sarahbessey 5332
177 Pastor Leonce Crump CrumpII 5330
178 Steve McCoy stevekmccoy 5282
179 Hank Dugie thehankdugie 5269
180 Tim Chester timchestercouk 5227
181 Jim Tomberlin MultiSiteGuy 5202
182 Andrew Jones tallskinnykiwi 5192
183 kyproftheflamingsord gregshk 5162
184 John Siebeling johnsiebeling 5135
185 Nathan W. Bingham NWBingham 5085
186 Dr Bex Lewis drbexl 5013
187 Jeff Miller CurtJester 4745
188 Bishop Kenneth Ulmer BishopUlmer 4725
189 Bible and Mission bibleandmission 4700
190 maggi dawn maggidawn 4638
191 Dave Walker davewalker 4551
192 John Dickson johnpauldickson 4542
193 Jason Meyer WePreachChrist 4479
194 Micah Fries micahfries 4149
195 Frank Schaeffer Frank_Schaeffer 4087
196 Jon Bloom Bloom_Jon 3941
197 Jon Bennett JonBennett78 3941
198 Owen Strachan ostrachan 3847
199 Randy Bezet randybezet 3830
200 Joseph Louthan JLLouthan 3794
201 Joel Virgo JoelVirgo 3744
202 David Pawson David_Pawson 3735
203 The Christian Unions UCCF 3700
204 Tope Koleoso TopeKoleoso 3685
205 Joy W Bennett WritingJoy 3500
206 Scot McKnight TheJesusCreed 3428
207 Daniel Kirk jrdkirk 3363
208 Warren Bird warrenbird 3355
209 Dwight Longenecker dlongenecker1 3276
210 Langham Partnership LanghamPartners 3267
211 Nicole Cottrell ModernReject 3241
212 Carl Beech carlfbeech 3137
213 Rachel Mann metalvicar 2978
214 Frank Turk Frank_Turk 2938
215 Josh Surratt JoshSurratt 2926
216 Jim Denison JimDenison 2882
217 A Deeper Story DeeperStory 2871
218 Andreas Köstenberger akostenberger 2826
219 pmphillips pmphillips 2784
220 Hannah Mudge boudledidge 2743
221 Patheos Catholic PatheosCatholic 2737
222 Justin Brierley UnbelievableJB 2705
223 ⌘ MISSIONARIES Missionaries 2673
224 Peter Ould ☩ PeterOuld 2590
225 Chris Kidd chriskidd 2586
226 ChristiansWantToKnow ChristianTopic1 2564
227 My Shibboleth My_Shibboleth 2522
228 Annmarie Miles auntyamo 2431
229 Krystal TheFriddle 2380
230 Bryony Taylor vahva 2368
231 Julian C Adams JulianCAdams 2319
232 Peter Leithart PLeithart 2311
233 Marc Barnes BadCatholicBlog 2308
234 Owen J D Brown OJDBROWN 2305
235 Bobby louisvillebobby 2298
236 Alise Wright AliseWrite 2298
237 God and Politics UK GodandPolitics 2254
238 Miriam Swaffield miriamswaff 2233
239 Elizabeth Drescher edrescherphd 2215
240 Harvey Turner PastorHarv 2198
241 thinktheology thinktheology 2168
242 Anna Drew annamdrew 2165
243 Phil Vischer philvischer 2156
244 Joe Carter joecarter 2155
245 Elizabeth Michelle ElizabethMelle 2095
246 Jessica Bowman BohemianBowman 2091
247 Dave Bish davebish 2077
248 kathyescobar kathyescobar 1994
249 Malcolm Yarnell ✒ myarnell 1952
250 The Vicar’s Wife thevicarswife 1945
251 Andy Naselli AndyNaselli 1941
252 GodlyGals GodlyGals 1939
253 Preston Yancey prestonyancey 1886
254 Dan Phillips BibChr 1862
255 John Shore johnshore 1858
256 Nick Uva nickuva 1828
257 Colin Dye Colindye 1818
258 John Quick John_Quick 1734
259 Theology Network TheologyNetwork 1722
260 Nick Batzig Nick_Batzig 1716
261 Mike Reeves mike_reeves 1705
262 Aaron Armstrong AaronStrongarm 1700
263 David Devenish DevenishDavid 1676
264 Sara Batts DrBattyTowers 1670
265 Derick Dickens derickdickens 1651
266 Michael Patton CMichaelPatton 1622
267 felicitydale felicitydale 1598
268 Steven Lawson DrStevenJLawson 1584
269 Fr Simon Rundell frsimon 1560
270 Eric Williams FunkyDung 1560
271 Adrian Holloway adrianholloway 1554
272 David French DavidAFrench 1536
273 Paul Chitwood DrPaulChitwood 1492
274 Seedbed OfficialSeedbed 1491
275 James F. McGrath ReligionProf 1479
276 Laura Sykes layanglicana 1464
277 Dave Roberts Partakers_Dave 1459
278 David Cloake FrDavidCloake 1453
279 Derek Ouellette derekouellette 1440
280 Jonathan Le Tocq letocq 1436
281 Timothy Dalrymple TimDalrymple_ 1419
282 Peter Saunders drpetersaunders 1417
283 Edward Green EdwardBGreen 1408
284 Colin Urquhart ColinUrquhart 1386
285 Peter Enns peteenns 1380
286 C.H. Spurgeon Quotes chsquotes 1356
287 Lex Loizides lexloiz 1351
288 Lex Loizides lexloiz 1351
289 Eric Teetsel EricTeetsel 1350
290 The Crescat the_crescat 1328
291 Philip Ritchie philritchie 1312
292 God loves women God_loves_women 1305
293 Lore Ferguson loreferguson 1297
294 Scott Thomas GospelCoach 1287
295 James Prescott JamesPrescott77 1282
296 Tanya Marlow Tanya_Marlow 1282
297 matthew hosier matthewhosier 1234
298 Alan Molineaux almolx 1190
299 Colin Coward changingatt 1187
300 Glenn Lucke GlennLucke 1183
301 lanceford lanceford 1174
302 fragmentz fragmentz 1162
303 Eddie Arthur kouya 1151
304 ryan_frazier ryan_frazier 1139
305 Mark Meynell Quaerentia 1134
306 Darryl Dash DashHouse 1106
307 Shannon Lewis SaintLewis 1083
308 Patheos Evangelical PatheosEvang 1053
309 AgapeSlinger AgapeSlinger 1042
310 David Holden DavidEHolden 1039
311 Jo Royal JoRoyal 1036
312 Mike Betts MikeBetts62 998
313 Glen Scrivener glenscrivener 955
314 PatheosProgXn PatheosProgXn 933
315 Pastor KC Brown pastorkcbrown 933
316 Andrew Wilson AJWTheology 931
317 Epiphany Camden epiphanycamden 922
318 Jeremy Simpkins JPSimpkins 905
319 Steve Tibbert SteveJTibbert 896
320 Jerry Sutton JerrySutton 891
321 Evangelicals Now EvangelicalsNow 846
322 Gerrarrdus Gerrarrdus 809
323 Jesse Johnson jarbitro 785
324 Thomas Creedy ThomasCreedy 782
325 Dave Warnock dave42w 780
326 BCS BCS_MN 761
327 Viola on Patheos PatheosViola 725
328 bryanmowrey bryanmowrey 698
329 BenPeays benpeays 695
330 Andrew Evans andysstudy 693
331 Hayley Moss YouthPresident 686
332 Liz Clutterbuck LizClutterbuck 673
333 Sam Allberry SamAllberry 666
334 Marcus Honeysett marcushoneysett 652
335 Phil Moore PhilMooreLondon 650
336 Will Grady willgrady 644
337 Beverley Molineaux bevmolx 639
338 Michael Mercer chaplainimonk 597
339 Albert G algarlando 581
340 Phil Whittall simplepastor 576
341 PeterMead PeterMead 575
342 markdroberts markdroberts 572
343 Andy Gray Andy_CityHill 570
344 David Faulkner davefaulkner 565
345 Ron Hudson pastorhudson 562
346 Sipech TheAlethiophile 541
347 Mission Church MissionChurch 525
348 Simon Benham simonbenham 517
349 Dave Ketter DaveKetter 513
350 Sean Doherty swdoherty 504
351 Rhys Scott rhysscott 497
352 Daniel Hames danhames 462
353 Cat Caird Cat_Caird 451
354 Yohaan Philip I yohaanphilip 445
355 kirsty c whataboutkirsty 423
356 Joel Rainey joelrainey 411
357 Mack Stiles MackStiles 410
358 Alice Buckley alicecrumbs 406
359 the warnies warnies 374
360 Jennifer Parnham JenniferParnham 371
361 Michaela Youngson Stphotina 368
362 Nick Parish Longingtobeholy 352
363 Kelly J Youngblood kjpyoungblood 350
364 Jarel Robinson-Brown JarelPianist 347
365 Greg Haslam HaslamGreg 322
366 Matt Collins thegingerMC 321
367 Ami Loizides Pruett amipruett 314
368 traviskolder traviskolder 298
369 Nathan Gamester NathanGamester 294
370 Lisa Robinson theochick 289
371 Nikki Lerner NikkiLerner 259
372 Robyn Afrik afrikadvantage 253
373 Dave Winter dajmwinter 240
374 Jon Marlow jjmarlow 208
375 Kath Cunningham pilgrimKath 185
376 Marc Poland MarcellusPoland 151
377 Peter Kirk Gentle_Wisdom 120
"Do you believe the promises Jesus gave about life eternal? If so, how did he ..."

Jesus Commands: Worship Me
"The best place to dry wet ugg boots is in an airy, shaded area at ..."

Guest post from Mrs W: “Regarding ..."
"The earthly Jesus preached about what it took to be a good jew. He didn't ..."

Jesus Commands: Worship Me
"The Trinity may be only a logical inference and may not be correct. If St. ..."

Jesus Commands: Worship Me

Browse Our Archives

Follow Us!


What Are Your Thoughts?leave a comment