Quote for the Day

Broadly speaking, then, we can say that there are three kinds of contemplation: one is philosophical and its peak-point is a metaphysical experience of being; the second has for its object Christian dogmas the inner meaning of which it savors with the light of faith; the third is a high form of union with God, conferred gratuitously upon His intimate friends. A consideration of these three kinds of contemplation helps us to understand the traditional relationship between reason, dogma, and mysticism.

— William Johnston, The Mysticism of The Cloud of Unknowing

Why Trappists Make Great Spiritual Guides
Five Things Christian Contemplatives can learn from Buddhists
Emptiness and Non-Attachment
Happy St. Hildegard's Day!
About Carl McColman

Author of Befriending Silence, The Big Book of Christian Mysticism, Answering the Contemplative Call, and other books. Retreat leader. Speaker. Professed Lay Cistercian.

  • http://revmdavis.blogspot.com/ Marshall Davis

    Patanjali calls these three: concentration, meditation and contemplation.

    Furthermore the description of these three requires a different use of language in each case. Much confusion occurs when one is speaking in mystical language but is heard in doctrinal language.

  • Mike Horlick