Sergio Garcia Finally Won a Major–The Masters

Professional golfer Sergio Garcia has been dubbed "the best player to never win a major." This week the 37-year old Spaniard was competing in his 73rd major pro golf championship, of which there are four. He defeated Englishman Justin Rose on the first extra hole today to win the 2016 Masters golf championship at Augusta, Georgia, on the famed Augusta National Golf Club. It was a trilling final round as both men tied with nine-under totals of 279. They finished the 72-hole tournament three … [Read more...]

A Record NINE Holes-In-One at Masters Par-Three Contest Today

This is Masters Week. Golfers know spring has arrived when The Masters rolls around. It is held at the picturesque Augusta National Golf Club in the piney woods of Augusta, Georgia, when its many azalea shrubs and Dogwood trees are in full bloom. This is the world's premier golf event for individual competition. It occurs at a prime time--early in the year when golf fans have not been thinking about golf much for the past several months. Plus, The Masters is the first of golf's four major … [Read more...]

Dustin Johnson Wins Three-in-a-Row

Just minutes ago, Dustin Johnson--PGA Tour star and #1 golfer in the world--won the World Golf Championship-Dell Technologies Match Play at Austin, Texas, on the Austin Country Club golf course. In the afternoon finals match, Dustin defeated 22-year-old sensational Spaniard Jon Rahm one up on the last, eighteenth hole. It gave the long-hitting Johnson three PGA Tour victories in a row, two of them being coveted WGC events.It was the dream match between these two outstanding players that golf … [Read more...]

The USGA Replied

Four hours after I posted today that the USGA had not replied to my questions about loose impediments and taking a stance properly, it did so. Here is their reply,"Loose impediments may be removed by any means, except that, in removing loose impediments on the line of putt, the player must not press anything down – see Rule 16-1a and Decision 23-1/1.  Accordingly, removing loose impediments from your area of intended stance is not considered to be building a stance."For more information r … [Read more...]

The USGA Has Not Replied

I'm still not fully convinced I was wrong about whether or not Rickie Fowler broke a rule of golf in properly taking his stance during the Honda Classic tournament three weeks ago, which he won. See my post, "Rickie Fowler Should Have Been Penalized Today" and my followup post "I Stand Corrected About 'Building a Stance' in Golf".I also said in that first post that I met Rickie Fowler, he's a really nice guy, such a crowd favorite on the PGA Tour, and he is a member of the PGA Tour Bible … [Read more...]

Dustin Johnson Wins to Stay #1

Yesterday, Dustin Johnson won the Mexico Championship at Mexico City by one stroke. It is sort of a new tournament on the PGA Tour that switched venues from Trump National Doral Miami. It was Johnson's fourth World Golf Championship title.Johnson held a four stroke lead over Spanish rookie sensation Jon Rahm, who attended Arizona State University. Then Rahm rattled off two birdies at the Chapultepec Golf Club, and the game was on. But Rahm, who had not three-putted during the entire … [Read more...]

New Golf Rule Changes

Well, after posting Sunday and today about my apparent error regarding the golf rule about "building a stance," I learned only minutes later there was a very important announcement today in golf about the rules of the game. It reminded me of what the outspoken yet winsome golfing legend Gene Sarazen once said to me. I was playing with him at Augusta National in the par-three, nine-hole competition that is a tradition on Wednesday before the Masters tournament starts each year. Gene was there … [Read more...]

I Stand Corrected About “Building a Stance” in Golf

Three days ago, I posted about the third round of the Honda Classic golf tournament, played last Saturday. I claimed that Ricki Fowler, who eventually won the tournament, had broken the rule of gold that forbids "building a stance." (See "Ricki Fowler Should Have Been Penalized.") It happened on his second shot on the second hole, which was televised. When Ricki took his stance to play, he was standing on pine needles under the pine trees. He scraped both feet backwards multiple times in an … [Read more...]