Pagan Hangout: Online Community, Culture, Trolls and Real Life

Paganism online is a totally different animal from the face-to-face Pagan culture and community. What are the strengths, weaknesses and issues that face those who primarily engage with Paganism online?We will begin broadcasting shortly, and here is a time zone guide.11 AM EDT (New York) 10 AM CDT (Nashville) 9 AM MDT (Denver) 8 AM PDT (Seattle) 4 PM BST (London)  … [Read more...]

Active Sexual Consent (and Dissent)

With examples like Tristan and isolde, no wonder we're mixed up about consent.

Do what thou wilt shall be the whole of the Law. Since Jonathan Korman wrote about consent, I've been giving it some deep thought. Including the comment by Niki Whiting on how women need to be educated about consent. And I've been thinking of it in context of the freak out in the atheist community over harassment, and in other freak outs that have happened in the Pagan community. I think one of the problems with consent and communication is that we tend to treat sexual attraction as some sort … [Read more...]

You Can’t Appropriate Your Own Culture

Seems like common sense, right? Yet common sense, as the saying goes, isn't quite so common.At Pagan Spirit Gathering this year I attended the Redneck Ritual. Debby led the ritual, which involved Dale Earnhardt, RC Cola and Moon Pies. Being from the great state of Georgia herself, she didn't appropriate Redneck culture, because it's her culture. As a participant in the ritual, being from rural Georgia and eating boiled peanuts on occasion, I didn't appropriate anything from rednecks, because I … [Read more...]

Modern Ancestor Worship Musings

Galina Krasskova's column tomorrow will be focusing on ancestors, and it got me to thinking about my own ancestors and how I incorporate them into my spirituality.I've been slowly tracing back my family's history and thinking of the stories my parents and grandparents told me. Usually talk of ancestors was accompanied by a book, either a small notebook crammed with notes or family Bibles being opened. My mother's father had no birth certificate and the family Bible was the only proof of his … [Read more...]

Pagans and Bluegrass and Gospel! Oh My!

I was volunteering at a bluegrass festival in my town and I'm running a bit behind in getting this post out. Which is great because I want to talk a bit about it!For the first time ever just standing on the town square I casually met another Pagan, who encouraged me to join a local women's choir that sings gospel music. I'm seriously considering it. Bluegrass gospel is the soundtrack of my childhood. My grandparents often took me to gospel "singings" growing up and the sound of a banjo and … [Read more...]


CLOSE | X

HIDE | X