Blast From the Past: 10 Most Popular Posts from 2008

1. "Pew Forum Survey on American Religion"http://secularoutpost.infidels.org/2008/02/pew-forum-survey-on-american-religion.html2. "Christianity (warning: may be offensive to Christians)"http://secularoutpost.infidels.org/2008/11/christianity-warning-may-be-offensive.html3. "Superlatively Silly Super-Sensitive Secularists"http://secularoutpost.infidels.org/2008/03/superlatively-silly-super-sensitive.html4. "Christian Student Deflates Atheist … [Read more...]

Wikipedia Article on Internet Infidels

This is not new, but it was news to me. Apparently, Wikipedia has a very short article about the Internet Infidels: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Internet_Infidels … [Read more...]

Distrust & Anti-Atheist Prejudice

Interesting new paper from Gervais, Shariff and Norenzayan:http://www2.psych.ubc.ca/~will/Gervais%20et%20al-%20Atheist%20Distrust.pdfThe experiments performed by Gervais et al. provide pretty convincing support for the thesis that anti-atheist prejudice manifests as distrust (rather than dislike, or disgust), and that it surfaces most strongly when the need for trust -- as opposed to say, likeability, or pleasantness -- is particularly salient. So, for example, prejudiced religious believers are … [Read more...]

LINK: Erik Wielenberg’s Review of The God Delusion by Richard Dawkins

LINKThe review also includes a critical assessment of the Courtier's Reply. … [Read more...]

Argument Against the Resurrection of Jesus – Part 6

David Marshall has objected to my analysis of the term 'miracle' and appears to have misunderstood my claim that the alleged resurrection of Jesus would constitute a 'physically impossible' event. Before I attempt to deal with any other objections or criticisms from Marshall, I want to clear up the disagreement and/or confusion that exists about these concepts, which I believe are basic and important for further discussion of the main question: Did God raise Jesus from the dead?Marshall and I … [Read more...]

With Friends Like These, Who Needs Enemies?

So apparently an atheist[1] in Leesburg, Virginia decided to erect a "holiday" display which consists of a skeleton dressed as Santa being crucified. LINKPictures of this stunt are also available in your local neighborhood library's encyclopedia, under the following entries:Offensive -- unnecessarily offensive, to be preciseStupidHow Not to Win Friends and Influence PeopleSeems to me that someone needs to relearn the lesson about "just because you have the legal right to do something doesn't … [Read more...]

Blast from the Past: 10 Most Popular Posts from 2007

1. "Quantum Magic"http://secularoutpost.infidels.org/2007/11/quantum-magic.html2. "Encountering Naturalism"http://secularoutpost.infidels.org/2007/10/encountering-naturalism.html3. "Infidel Publishing in Turkey"http://secularoutpost.infidels.org/2007/11/infidel-publishing-in-turkey.html4. "A Metaphysical Naturalist Manifesto"http://secularoutpost.infidels.org/2007/07/metaphysical-naturalist-manifesto.html5. "Clark Adams, RIP"http://secularoutpost.infidels.org/2007/05/clark-adams-rip.html6. … [Read more...]

Edward Feser on Dawkins’ Refusal to Debate WLC

As I've written before, I'm a huge fan of the work Richard Dawkins has done to promote science and reason. I think he is at his best when he he talks or writes about science and especially his primary area of expertise, biology. Dawkins' book, The Blind Watchmaker, had a big influence on me a long time ago, so much so that I dedicated The Empty Tomb to Dawkins.  On the other hand, philosophy of religion is not Dawkins' area of expertise; his book The God Delusion is not nearly as well … [Read more...]


CLOSE | X

HIDE | X