Seven Steps to Sacred Bliss: Hindu Wedding Rituals

The first step is taken to earn and provide a living for their household or family.

The second step is taken to build physical, mental, and spiritual powers and to lead a healthy lifestyle.

The third step is taken to earn and increase their wealth by righteous and proper means.

The fourth step is taken to acquire knowledge, happiness, and harmony by mutual love, respect, understanding, and faith.

The fifth step is taken to have children for whom the couple will be responsible and to blessed with healthy, righteous, and brave children.

The sixth step is taken for self-control and longevity.

The seventh step is taken to be true to each other, loyal and remain life-long companions by this wedlock.

Completion of the seventh step is the moment of completion of the marriage ritual.

However, they do not say, "Kiss the bride!" That is also something sacred, and done in the privacy of the honeymoon suite.

12/2/2022 9:08:55 PM
  • Hindu
  • Seeking Shanti
  • Marriage
  • Ritual
  • Sacraments
  • Wedding
  • Hinduism
  • Padma Kuppa
    About Padma Kuppa
    Padma Kuppa is a writer, IT professional, community activist, wife, and mother working to build a more pluralistic society within a Hindu and interfaith framework. You can also read her blog A Balancing Act, at The views represented in this column are not a reflection of the views of any organization of which she is a part.