Atheist Action Items

If we’re going to create a world more friendly to reason, we need to raise our voices and speak out for the atheist viewpoint. This week, there are several ways in which you can help:

• Two Texas state legislators have been courageously fighting back against creationism by proposing legislation to increase oversight and disclosure of the creationist-dominated State Board of Education. Take a moment to sign this petition and thank them.

• The city of Ottawa has rejected the pro-atheist bus ads that have been catching London by storm. City Councillor Alex Cullen is moving to repeal this decision at the council’s March 11 meeting, and he’s asking for people to help out by contacting the rest of Ottawa’s city councillors and pressuring them to do the right thing. Tell Ottawa to stand up for atheists’ free speech!

Here is a link to the Councillors’ contact information:
http://www.ottawa.ca/city_hall/mayor_council/councillors/index_en.html

To make things really easy, reader Marlowe Fillipov has pulled together all their e-mail addresses:
Georges.Bedard@ottawa.ca, Michel.Bellemare@ottawa.ca, Rainer.Bloess@ottawa.ca, Glenn.Brooks@ottawa.ca, rick.chiarelli@ottawa.ca, Diane.Deans@ottawa.ca, Steve.Desroches@ottawa.ca, Clive.Doucet@ottawa.ca, Eli.El-Chantiry@ottawa.ca, Peggy.Feltmate@ottawa.ca, Jan.Harder@ottawa.ca, Diane.Holmes@ottawa.ca, Peter.Hume@ottawa.ca, Gord.Hunter@ottawa.ca, Rob.Jellett@ottawa.ca, Kitchissippi@ottawa.ca, Jacques.Legendre@ottawa.ca, Maria.Mcrae@ottawa.ca, Bob.Monette@ottawa.ca, Shad.Qadri@ottawa.ca, Doug.Thompson@ottawa.ca, Marianne.Wilkinson@ottawa.ca, Alex.Cullen@ottawa.ca

Please send them an e-mail today.

• Finally, atheists should stand together against religiously motivated, ineffective and dangerous “abstinence-only” sex ed classes in public schools, most of which are just thinly disguised vehicles for Christian proselytizing. The No More Money campaign has been founded to oppose these programs (HT: Marty Klein). Please take action at their site and send a message to President Obama telling him that Americans deserve secular, reality-based sex ed in their public schools.

"During the invasion of Iran there was a CBC journalist reporting from the Kurd North. ..."

#WhiteWednesdays: Iranian Women Fight Theocracy
"Assuming that everybody knows what you know is something that humans grow out of at ..."

The Fountainhead: Emotional Labor
"I have a document with a couple of functions like blockquote saved to copy and ..."

The Fountainhead: Emotional Labor

Browse Our Archives

Follow Us!


What Are Your Thoughts?leave a comment