Interesting new paper from Gervais, Shariff and Norenzayan:http://www2.psych.ubc.ca/~will/Gervais%20et%20al-%20Atheist%20Distrust.pdfThe experiments performed by Gervais et al. provide pretty convincing support for the thesis that anti-atheist prejudice manifests as distrust (rather than dislike, or disgust), and that it surfaces most strongly when the need for trust — as opposed to say, likeability, or pleasantness — is particularly salient. So, for example, prejudiced religious believers are inclined to suppose that, while it is fine for atheists to be waiters, it’s not fine for them… Read more

LINKThe review also includes a critical assessment of the Courtier’s Reply. Read more

David Marshall has objected to my analysis of the term ‘miracle’ and appears to have misunderstood my claim that the alleged resurrection of Jesus would constitute a ‘physically impossible’ event. Before I attempt to deal with any other objections or criticisms from Marshall, I want to clear up the disagreement and/or confusion that exists about these concepts, which I believe are basic and important for further discussion of the main question: Did God raise Jesus from the dead?Marshall and I… Read more

So apparently an atheist[1] in Leesburg, Virginia decided to erect a “holiday” display which consists of a skeleton dressed as Santa being crucified. LINKPictures of this stunt are also available in your local neighborhood library’s encyclopedia, under the following entries:Offensive — unnecessarily offensive, to be preciseStupidHow Not to Win Friends and Influence PeopleSeems to me that someone needs to relearn the lesson about “just because you have the legal right to do something doesn’t make it a good idea.” Also,… Read more

1. “Quantum Magic”http://secularoutpost.infidels.org/2007/11/quantum-magic.html2. “Encountering Naturalism”http://secularoutpost.infidels.org/2007/10/encountering-naturalism.html3. “Infidel Publishing in Turkey”http://secularoutpost.infidels.org/2007/11/infidel-publishing-in-turkey.html4. “A Metaphysical Naturalist Manifesto”http://secularoutpost.infidels.org/2007/07/metaphysical-naturalist-manifesto.html5. “Clark Adams, RIP”http://secularoutpost.infidels.org/2007/05/clark-adams-rip.html6. “Anthony Flew’s New Book” http://secularoutpost.infidels.org/2007/11/antony-flews-new-book.html7. “Are Religious People More Generous?”http://secularoutpost.infidels.org/2007/10/are-religious-people-more-generous.html8. “We Live in the Land of Biblical Idiots”http://secularoutpost.infidels.org/2007/03/we-live-in-land-of-biblical-idiots.html9. “Atheist and Humanist Emblems”http://secularoutpost.infidels.org/2007/04/atheist-and-humanist-emblems.html10. “Hitchens, Apparently, Is Bleeding Insane”http://secularoutpost.infidels.org/2007/10/hitchens-apparently-is-bleeding-insane.html Read more

As I’ve written before, I’m a huge fan of the work Richard Dawkins has done to promote science and reason. I think he is at his best when he he talks or writes about science and especially his primary area of expertise, biology. Dawkins’ book, The Blind Watchmaker, had a big influence on me a long time ago, so much so that I dedicated The Empty Tomb to Dawkins.  On the other hand, philosophy of religion is not Dawkins’ area… Read more

Here is an index of our top ten most popular posts from 2006. 1. “New Blog: The Ex-Apologist”http://secularoutpost.infidels.org/2006/11/new-blog-ex-apologist.html2. “Who Is the Most Prominent Atheist?”http://secularoutpost.infidels.org/2006/07/who-is-most-prominent-atheist.html3. “An Atheist Visits Christian Forums”http://secularoutpost.infidels.org/2006/01/atheist-visits-christian-forums.html4. “Could an Atheist Pass a Lie Detector Test while Proclaiming Atheism?”http://secularoutpost.infidels.org/2006/02/could-atheist-pass-lie-detector-test.html5. “John Stewart and Richard Dawkins on Ted Haggard”http://secularoutpost.infidels.org/2006/11/john-stewart-and-richard-dawkins-on.html6. “From Keith Augustine: Does Consciousness Depend on the Brain?”http://secularoutpost.infidels.org/2006/12/from-keith-augustine-does.html7. “Number of Atheists Worldwide”http://secularoutpost.infidels.org/2006/12/number-of-atheists-worldwide.html8. “Militant Agnosticism”http://secularoutpost.infidels.org/2006/01/militant-agnosticism.html9. “Atheists and Nonbelievers, By Country”http://secularoutpost.infidels.org/2006/03/atheists-and-nonbelievers-by-country.html10. “An Empirical Test for the Existence of a Sensus Divinitatus”http://secularoutpost.infidels.org/2006/02/empirical-test-of-existence-of-sensus.html Read more

The Secular Outpost seems to consistently get a lot of traffic from people who are doing Internet searches for “best atheist debaters.” This post is for them. This post was originally titled “Best Atheist Debaters.” Just as I changed the old post “Worst Atheist Debaters” to “Worst Atheist Debate Performances,” I’ve changed this post from “Best Atheist Debate Performances.” The logic is simple: anyone can get lucky and have an exceptionally good day or exceptionally bad day. So with that… Read more

The purpose of this post is to serve as an index or hub page for all of the posts in my series on Schellenberg’s important book. Book Reviewed Our Rating Title: The Wisdom to Doubt: A Justification of Religious Skepticism Author: J.L. Schellenberg Publisher: Cornell University Press Publication Date: 2007 List Price: $45.95 Must Read Summary: This book is a “must-read” for anyone interested in philosophy of religion. Contents and Detailed Review: The book’s table of contents is reproduced below;… Read more

A. The Arguments Formulated In chapter 13 of Atheism: A Philosophical Justification, Michael Martin argues that Salmon’s arguments can be expanded to provide a powerful case for atheism: If Salmon’s arguments concerning the unique properties of God are restated and expanded, they provide a powerful inductive case for positive atheism in the narrow sense. The theistic God is an all-powerful, all-knowing, all-good, disembodied person who created the universe out of nothing. If it can be shown that, in the light… Read more

Follow Us!



Browse Our Archives