ex-apologist: Some Great Papers from Schellenberg Now Available Online

ex-apologist: Some Great Papers from Schellenberg Now Available OnlineThanks, Ex-Apologist, for pointing these out. Schellenberg really is one of the best philosophers of religion today. I think his work deserves much more publicity than it gets, especially among atheists. … [Read more...]

Blast from the Past: 10 Most Popular Posts from 2010

1. "Goodbye to All That"http://secularoutpost.infidels.org/2010/09/goodbye-to-all-that.html2. "Joylessness or Family Values?"http://secularoutpost.infidels.org/2010/08/joylessness-or-family-values.html3. "Easter Week: What Really Happened?"http://secularoutpost.infidels.org/2010/12/easter-week-what-really-happened.html4. "High Weirdness by H-Net"http://secularoutpost.infidels.org/2010/05/high-weirdness-by-h-net.html5. "Conservatism in … [Read more...]

Argument Against the Resurrection of Jesus – Part 9

A key claim made by Christian apologists who defend the resurrection goes like this:(JAW) Jesus of Nazareth was alive and walking around unassisted on the first Easter Sunday.We are considering the implications of the following supposition:4. (JAW) is false.On this supposition, there are three logical possibilities:A. Jesus was not alive on the first Easter Sunday.B. Jesus was alive on the first Easter Sunday but did not walk at all that day.C. Jesus was alive on the … [Read more...]

Argument Against the Resurrection of Jesus – Part 8

Consider the following claim:(JAW) Jesus of Nazareth was alive and walking around unassisted on the first Easter Sunday.There are two logical possibilities concerning (JAW):3. Either (JAW) is true or it is not true.Of the two possibilities mentioned in (3), let's first consider the one that appears to favor skepticism about the resurrection:2. (JAW) is not true.If we suppose (2) to be correct, does that in fact favor or support a skeptical view of the resurrection of Jesus?One possibility is … [Read more...]

Blast from the Past: 10 Most Popular Posts from 2009

1. "Atheist Atrocities?"http://secularoutpost.infidels.org/2009/02/atheist-atrocities.html2. "The Constitutional Rights, Privileges, and Immunities of the American People"http://secularoutpost.infidels.org/2009/05/constitutional-rights-privileges-and.html3. "Stupid Philosopher Tricks"http://secularoutpost.infidels.org/2009/01/stupid-philosopher-tricks.html4. "Is It Possible to be a Muslim Atheist?"http://secularoutpost.infidels.org/2009/03/is-it-possible-to-be-muslim-atheist.html5. "Russell vs. … [Read more...]

Worst Atheist Debaters

Like my list of "Best Atheist Debaters," I don't know of any way to be fully objective about this sort of thing. Also, like the other list, I fully recognize that others may disagree. Nevertheless, for what it's worth, here is my list of worst atheist debaters, organized by topic.Topic: God's ExistenceFlew, Antony (technically he doesn't belong on a list of atheists)Nielsen, KaiStein, GordonZindler, FrankTopic: Morality Without GodKurtz, Paul (for an example, see here)Taylor, RichardTopic: … [Read more...]

Argument Against the Resurrection of Jesus – Part 7

I think the best way to make a case for my skeptical view of the resurrection, is to develop a dilemma, following the lead of the great Enlightenment skeptic David Hume.The main question at issue is: Did God raise Jesus from the dead? But at the crux of my skeptical argument will be the following claim:(JAW) Jesus of Nazareth was alive and walking around unassisted on the first Easter Sunday.By 'the first Easter Sunday' I mean the Sunday immediately following the Friday of the Passover week when … [Read more...]

Blast From the Past: 10 Most Popular Posts from 2008

1. "Pew Forum Survey on American Religion"http://secularoutpost.infidels.org/2008/02/pew-forum-survey-on-american-religion.html2. "Christianity (warning: may be offensive to Christians)"http://secularoutpost.infidels.org/2008/11/christianity-warning-may-be-offensive.html3. "Superlatively Silly Super-Sensitive Secularists"http://secularoutpost.infidels.org/2008/03/superlatively-silly-super-sensitive.html4. "Christian Student Deflates Atheist … [Read more...]


CLOSE | X

HIDE | X