Blast from the Past: 10 Most Popular Posts from 2007

1. "Quantum Magic"http://secularoutpost.infidels.org/2007/11/quantum-magic.html2. "Encountering Naturalism"http://secularoutpost.infidels.org/2007/10/encountering-naturalism.html3. "Infidel Publishing in Turkey"http://secularoutpost.infidels.org/2007/11/infidel-publishing-in-turkey.html4. "A Metaphysical Naturalist Manifesto"http://secularoutpost.infidels.org/2007/07/metaphysical-naturalist-manifesto.html5. "Clark Adams, RIP"http://secularoutpost.infidels.org/2007/05/clark-adams-rip.html6. … [Read more...]

Edward Feser on Dawkins’ Refusal to Debate WLC

As I've written before, I'm a huge fan of the work Richard Dawkins has done to promote science and reason. I think he is at his best when he he talks or writes about science and especially his primary area of expertise, biology. Dawkins' book, The Blind Watchmaker, had a big influence on me a long time ago, so much so that I dedicated The Empty Tomb to Dawkins.  On the other hand, philosophy of religion is not Dawkins' area of expertise; his book The God Delusion is not nearly as well … [Read more...]

Blast from the Past: 10 Most Popular Posts from 2006

Here is an index of our top ten most popular posts from 2006. 1. "New Blog: The Ex-Apologist"http://secularoutpost.infidels.org/2006/11/new-blog-ex-apologist.html2. "Who Is the Most Prominent Atheist?"http://secularoutpost.infidels.org/2006/07/who-is-most-prominent-atheist.html3. "An Atheist Visits Christian Forums"http://secularoutpost.infidels.org/2006/01/atheist-visits-christian-forums.html4. "Could an Atheist Pass a Lie Detector Test while Proclaiming … [Read more...]

Best Atheist Debate Performances (revised 3-Apr-14)

The Secular Outpost seems to consistently get a lot of traffic from people who are doing Internet searches for "best atheist debaters." This post is for them.This post was originally titled "Best Atheist Debaters." Just as I changed the old post "Worst Atheist Debaters" to "Worst Atheist Debate Performances," I've changed this post from "Best Atheist Debate Performances." The logic is simple: anyone can get lucky and have an exceptionally good day or exceptionally bad day. So with that … [Read more...]

Review of J.L. Schellenberg’s The Wisdom to Doubt: Index

The purpose of this post is to serve as an index or hub page for all of the posts in my series on Schellenberg's important book. Book ReviewedOur RatingTitle: The Wisdom to Doubt: A Justification of Religious SkepticismAuthor: J.L. SchellenbergPublisher: Cornell University PressPublication Date: 2007List Price: $45.95Must ReadSummary: This book is a "must-read" for anyone interested in philosophy of religion.Contents and Detailed Review:The book's table of contents is reproduced below; links to … [Read more...]

Atheistic Teleological Arguments, Part 4: Michael Martin’s Expanded Version

A. The Arguments FormulatedIn chapter 13 of Atheism: A Philosophical Justification, Michael Martin argues that Salmon's arguments can be expanded to provide a powerful case for atheism: If Salmon's arguments concerning the unique properties of God are restated and expanded, they provide a powerful inductive case for positive atheism in the narrow sense. The theistic God is an all-powerful, all-knowing, all-good, disembodied person who created the universe out of nothing. If it can be shown … [Read more...]

You Can’t Make This Stuff Up

 'No more virgins' Corrected VersionAccording to the UK's Daily Mall, Saudi Arabia’s highest religious council has warned that repealing a ban on women drivers in Saudi Arabia would result in "no more virgins." The Daily Mall states that the religious council's report "warns that allowing women to drive would ‘provoke a surge in prostitution, pornography, homosexuality and divorce’." Futhermore, "Within ten years of the ban being lifted, the report’s authors claim, there would be ‘no more vir … [Read more...]

How Not To Run a Public Relations Campaign

The Internet Infidels News Wire linked to a story today about a Pennsylvania town which refuses to include an atheist banner as part of a holiday display. I understand the church-state issues involved, but I scratch my head when I try to make sense of the public relations strategy of the Freedom From Religion Foundation (FFRF) here. I understand why they want to have a holiday display to represent atheism alongside religious displays, but I don't understand what they hope to accomplish with the … [Read more...]


CLOSE | X

HIDE | X