CRINT Essay Prize in Early Jewish and Christian Studies

CRINT Essay Prize in Early Jewish and Christian Studies January 10, 2021

Information about an essay prize that many of my readers ought to know about:

CRINT Essay Prize in Early Jewish and Christian Studies


Editors: Shaye Cohen (Harvard University), Matthijs den Dulk (Radboud University Nijmegen), David
Goodblatt, z’’l (University of California at San Diego), Christine Hayes (Yale University), Richard Kalmin
(Jewish Theological Seminary of America), Karl-Wilhelm Niebuhr (University of Jena), Pieter van der
Horst (Royal Dutch Academy of Sciences), Huub van de Sandt (University of Tilburg), James
VanderKam (Notre Dame)

General Editors: Joshua Schwartz (Bar-Ilan University) and Peter Tomson (University of Leuven)

CRINT Essay Prize in Early Jewish and Christian Studies

The Compendia Rerum Iudaicarum ad Novum Testamentum (CRINT) Foundation invites submissions
for its bi-annual Essay Prize, to be awarded to the best paper on a topic related to the early history of
Jews and Christians. Any essay illuminating how Jews and Christians shared and/or developed their
own traditions and identities during the first six centuries CE is eligible. Rabbinic literature and culture
have long been areas of special focus of CRINT and submissions that in some way engage or draw
on these fields of study are therefore especially welcomed.

The amount of the prize is €1.000. (Post-)graduate students and scholars who received their
PhD no earlier than 2016 are eligible to submit a paper.

The CRINT Foundation supports open access initiatives, and additional funds may be made available
to help cover article processing charges for the prizewinning essay.

In order to participate, submit a document not exceeding 10,000 words (including footnotes; a
bibliography is not necessary) to Dr. Matthijs den Dulk ( by July 1, 2021. The
essay should not have been previously published. Submissions will be judged with particular attention
to originality, significance, persuasiveness of argumentation and clarity of expression.

The 2021 award committee consists of Profs. Karl-Wilhelm Niebuhr, Richard Kalmin, and Joshua

Via H-JUDAIC. HT Jim Davila

"Are you talking about the section where I quote verbatim what someone else wrote, who ..."

When Prophecy Failed: QAnon in Light ..."
"It's his blog, he can write what he likes. And if you are going to ..."

When Prophecy Failed: QAnon in Light ..."
"With regards to your articles "When Prophecy Failed: QAnon in Light of Sociology of Religion ..."

When Prophecy Failed: QAnon in Light ..."
"I write quite a bit of free-use music like this now. There are about 80 ..."

Announcing P4: The Panentheist and Progressive ..."

Browse Our Archives