Bruckner’s 7th Symphony, Allegro moderato: Vox Nova at the Concert Hall

Bruckner’s 7th Symphony, Allegro moderato: Vox Nova at the Concert Hall October 29, 2009

Anton Bruckner’s Symphony No. 7 in E major (WAB 107) is one of his best-known symphonies and rightly so. It was written between 1881 and 1883 and as revised 1885. It is dedicated to Ludwig II of Bavaria. The premiere, given under Arthur Nikisch in the opera house at Leipzig in 1884 brought Bruckner the greatest success he had known in his lifetime.

His symphonies are often considered emblematic of the final stage of Austro-German Romanticism because of their rich harmonic language, complex polyphony, and considerable length.

Bruckner the man, a devout Catholic, was a church organist, conversatory instructor and ever-revising composer.

Here is Mariss Jansons conducting a segment of the opening Allegro moderato in E major. Enjoy particularly the beginning tremolo strings and the cellos  as they present a complete, seemingly divinely given melodic whole.

On a personal note, this is one of my favorite moments/passages in the entire symphonic repertoire.

"Very late to this article, but is there somewhere in Catholic theology that states this?"It ..."

On the Conscience and Our Response ..."
"This is such an important topic. We as a nation have to admit when solutions ..."

Lies, Damn Lies, and Profit Motives
"Oh dear stars these translated words.....dont make any sense aaaaaaa thanks for translating.ZH.G1269.US/c5119Y"

If Christ is our only King

Browse Our Archives

Close Ad