Our Banner

The top row is composed of images of Catholic saints, leaders and thinkers who have shaped the Church’s attitude toward the social, political and cultural spheres:
(L to R) – Pope John XXIII, St. Thomas Aquinas, Oscar Romero, Pope Pius XI, St. Thomas More, Pope Paul VI, G.K. Chesterton, Pope Innocent III, St. Augustine, Pope John Paul II, St. Basil the Great, Pope Benedict XVI, Dorothy Day, Pope Leo XIII, Michael Novak, J.R.R. Tolkien, Bl. Teresa of Calcutta, St. Maximus the Confessor, David L. Schindler, and St. Francis of Assisi

The bottom row is composed of images of significant political thinkers, cultural leaders and social critics who have shaped the world in which we live and to whose ideas we must respond with Christ’s message. They are the originators and revolutionaries, so to speak, of our contemporary ideas of democracy, captialism, despotism, communism, distributism, utilitarianism, liberteriansim and critical theory:
(L to R) – Alexander Hamilton, Simón Bolívar, Adam Smith, Niccolò Machiavelli, John Locke, Jürgen Habermas, Karl Marx, Jean-Jacques Rousseau, Plato, Ludwig von Mises, J.S. Mill, Martin Luther King, Jr., Aristotle, Hannah Arendt, Vladimir Solovyov, Thomas Hobbes, Bono and José Ortega y Gasset

These figures, among others, collectively represent the matrix in which responsible and informed socio-political discourse occurs, where faith and practical reason may truly flourish.