Heads up Washington State!

Mandatory Abortion Insurance or “Reproductive Parity Act”

 Relating toSenate Bill 5009 – “Concerning health plan coverage for the voluntary termination of a pregnancy”

 FPIW Action Bill Analysis: Planned Parenthhood and NARAL (National Abortion and Reproductive Rights Action League) are attempting to force abortion legislation on the citizens of Washington State. It’s their #1 priority bill, perhaps in the entire U.S. The abortion insurance mandate bill would force insurance on citizens to cover abortions. Anyone buying a maternity insurance plan would be forced to buy additional coverage that would cover the abortion of the pregnancy. No exceptions. Every business would have to buy it for their employees. No exceptions.  Read more …

This bill was originally introduced during the 2012 legislative session as House Bill 2330 and Senate Bill 6185. This afternoon, Senators Steve Litzow (R-41st) and Steve Hobbs (D-44th) will announce their support of this legislation, SB 5009, in a press call facilitated by Planned Parenthood Votes Northwest.

IMMEDIATE ACTION REQUESTED:

(1) – CALL the Prime Sponsors TODAY.

Tell them to WITHDRAW the REPRODUCTIVE PARITY ACT! 

WHY do we want them to withdraw their sponsorship of SB 5009 (read the bill)?

(A) – It’s UNNECESSARY and a FRIVOLOUS use of their time and tax-payers’ dollars.

(B) – It COULD FORFEIT Federal MEDICAID funding.

(C) – It’s ANTI-FREEDOM, as it removes the right of individuals and companies to buy and sell insurance products they want.

(2) – Please review the 41st Legislative District Map and forward this alert to your friends in Steve Litzow’s district.

(3) – Please review the 44th Legislative District Map and forward this alert to your friends in Steve Hobbs’ district.

(4) – Click to EMAIL this ALERT to a group of your FRIENDS and/or feel free to forward this alert to your entire NETWORK(s) or LIST(s).

(5) - Please CALL FIVE FRIENDS and ask them to do the same.

(6) – Please CALL (phone directory) or EMAIL the following SB 5009 CO-SPONSORS and tell them to also WITHDRAW THEIR SUPPORT (click on the link or cut and paste into your email recipient list):

Karen Keiser (D-33) <karen.keiser@leg.wa.gov>

Kevin Ranker (D-40) <kevin.ranker@leg.wa.gov>

Steve Conway (D-29) <steve.conway@leg.wa.gov>

Karen Fraser (D-22) <karen.fraser@leg.wa.gov>

Jeannie Darneille (D-27) <jeannie.darneille@leg.wa.gov>

Sharon Nelson (D-34) <sharon.nelson@leg.wa.gov>

Christine Rolfes (D-23) <christine.rolfes@leg.wa.gov>

Adam Kline (D-37) <adam.kline@leg.wa.gov>

Bob Hasegawa (D-11) <bob.hasegawa@leg.wa.gov>

  • Frank Weathers

    Seriously, NARAL and PP, no exceptions? Why can’t this big ol’ fight of yours just be for an optional rider to folks’ health insurance? You know, which the beneficiaries can choose to buy, or not? Playing this as a zero-sum game, just like the HHS Mandate, is ridiculous. What century are we living in?


CLOSE | X

HIDE | X