the Otherfaith is a modern polytheistic religion focused on modern life, new gods, and new spirits. We are a spirit-aware religion seeking to bridge humans with the holy landscape around them and unite them with their spiritual neighbors. We were born out of the Pagan and polytheistic religious movements and focus on worshiping and adoring the many living spirits and gods in our world. Our gods & spirits are ‘new’ – non-historical or folkloric entities. We interact with them through prayer, ritual, and mystical work. the Otherfaith is an ever-evolving religion, and at barely four years old we have much room to grow and develop.

the People

Other People, at its core, simply refers to the people of the Otherfaith – similar to how ‘Christian’ is the word used by those practicing Christianity. It does not imply or mean one has to be initiated by the spirits or receive a mystical call from the gods. You are one of the Other People when you dedicate yourself to our gods. (Not as scary as it might sound!)

Worshipers of our gods can call themselves an Other Person, one of the Other People, and/or a follower of the Otherfaith. All are correct. Specific labels like ‘devotee of the Ophelia’ have more restrictions and who and how they are used.

Our Gods

The Four Gods of the Otherfaith are the Clarene, Dierne, Laetha, and Ophelia. They are called the ‘Four Gods’ because there were four gods originally that revealed themselves.

the Clarene is the founder of the West – the sacred landscape which we journey to and upon which myth occur – and the only god of the Four that is not created but born as a god. Her lover the Ophelia is deified first of the other three, followed by the Laetha. the Dierne is the last god to be crowned with divinity. Each god interacts with each other in specific ways, as would be expected from such distinct personalities, and this influences how we pray to and approach them at times. There are familial connections, conflicts, and emotional ties to consider.

Though called the Four Gods, the Otherfaith technically has six gods we give worship to. These other two gods are the Ophelene and Laethelia.

Our Otherworld

The otherworld the gods inhabit in the Otherfaith is called variously the West, Westernlands, Western Faery, and Faeryland. The more common term we use is the West, since that is the name the spirits themselves use most often. It is also connected to their origins in this world (the Western world). The West is both a land journeyers of the otherworlds can visit and a metaphor for understanding our (as Other People) relationship to our material world. The West influences our ethics in the Otherfaith, and so touches all of us regardless of our ability to journey to strange lands. One does not need to journey to know our otherworld. It is right beside us, connected to our world as we are to it.

Our Goals

The core impulse that created the Otherfaith was a need for structure. We longed for structured prayer, ritual led by clergy, and a life saturated with religion.

Because of this, the most important part of the Otherfaith is setting aside time to be religious. This involves prayer and contemplation. Through these practices, we learn how best to incorporate the lessons our gods and spirits give us into our daily lives.

Setting aside time to be religious also involves setting aside time to participate in the community, another important aspect of the faith.

Shared prayer, shared ritual, shared meals, and shared holy spaces are what keep a religion strong. Co-religionists can stir the mind, offer aid in times of need, and bring peace to hurt hearts. The Other People know this. We make time for each other, we value each others’ presence, and we each become better.

Our goal is to educate people about our faith and get them interested. Our goal is to worship our gods and help people know them. Our goal is to firmly found a modern polytheist religion that provides safety and support for its followers, a safe space for those who cannot dedicate their entire lives to the gods and a safe space for those who are called to do so.

the Other People invite any Pagan, polytheist, or spirit-working explorers wishing to push the boundaries and delve into new realms to join us in this adventure. A new faith awaits.