menu

Attn Lit Lovers

Attn Lit Lovers September 7, 2013

My name is Joshua Hren and, in addition to serving as Managing Editor of Dappled Things: A Quarterly of Ideas, Art, and Faith, I am Editor-in-Chief of the newly-launched Wiseblood Books (www.wisebloodbooks.com), a publishing and editing line in the Catholic (and catholic) literary tradition. I am wondering whether Wiseblood may be of interest to you as a subject for a future blog post, article, interview, etc. at “Catholic and Enjoying it!”

After having completed my Ph.D. in English last year, and, having applied to over one hundred jobs in twelve months but finding work nowhere (as with so many fields right now, the competition in academia is fierce, with roughly 200 applicants per job), I–with my wife’s blessing (and the tacit approval of our two and four year old), launched Wiseblood Books.

Our work is in large part a response to John Paul II’s encouragement of those seeking “new epiphanies of beauty.”

For a general sense of what we do, please visit: www.wisebloodbooks.com.

In the case that this subject is at all intriguing (it seems a bit egotistical to suggest that it may), I’d love to share our story, as I think in many ways Wiseblood reveals a great deal about the future of publishing–Catholic or otherwise.

Thank you so much for considering this request.

Warm regards,

Joshua Hren, Ph.D.
Editor-in-Chief
Wiseblood Books
www.wisebloodbooks.com
wisebloodbooks@gmail.com

Publicity Blurbs

Wiseblood Books is a newly-launched publishing line particularly favorable toward works of fiction, poetry, and philosophy that render truths with what Flannery O’Connor called an unyielding “realism of distances.” Such works find redemption in uncanny places and people; wrestle us from the tyranny of boredom; show forth the sham of respectability; engage with the unsuspected pockets of the human heart, whether they are sources of violence or courage; articulate faith and doubt in their incarnate complexity; dare an unflinching gaze at human beings as “political animals”; and suffer through this world’s trials without forfeiting hope. We seek and publish fiction as popular as Dickens’ Pickwick Papers, Graham Greene’s “entertainments,” Tolkien’s The Lord of the Rings, Cather’s O Pioneers!, or P.D. James’ The Children of Men and demanding as Dostoevsky’s Demons, Faulkner’s Absalom, Absalom!, Melville’s Moby-Dick, Solzhenitsyn’s The Gulag Archipelago, or David Foster Wallace’s Infinite Jest. Although we’ve already produced a small library of classics, Wiseblood Books will release its first work of contemporary fiction, The Unfinished Life of N., on October 1st, 2013. You can learn more, follow the blog, buy books, submit manuscripts, or donate here: www.wisebloodbooks.com

The Unfinished Life of N. by Micah Cawber (Coming October 1st, 2013): In the tradition of Flannery O’Connor, The Unfinished Life of N. scrutinizes the quiet ambitions of normal people, their everyday fictions concerning others’ and their own humanity and goodness, as it follows Nafula, the innocent but not naïve protagonist, from the backwoods of Wisconsin to AIDS-stricken regions of Africa, and, after a rehabilitation program at a Mental Health home, through a grotesque sexual encounter that, paradoxically, catalyzes hope.

"Late to the game, but while I agree with him that the end doesn’t justify ..."

Building Bridges of Trust vs. Winning
"I also think netflix is more evil than good, the things they have and support ..."

A reader struggles with scruples about ..."
"I am pretty sure remote cooperation is evil unless with proportionate reasons..."

A reader struggles with scruples about ..."
"Just one nit - the Dickey Amendment (the bit of law that supposedly "forbids" the ..."

Heresy of the Day: Antinomianism

Browse Our Archives