Patheos Watermark

You are running a very outdated version of Internet Explorer. Patheos and most other websites will not display properly on this version. To better enjoy Patheos and your overall web experience, consider upgrading to the current version of Internet Explorer. Find more information HERE.

Religion Library: Jainism

Community Organization

Written by:

In addition to the sectarian division of Jains into Digambar and Svetambar, the community is fourfold: renunciants both male (munis) and female (sadhvis), and male and female householders. There is no central religious authority but several individual spiritual leaders (acharyas).


Recommended Products