Patheos Watermark

You are running a very outdated version of Internet Explorer. Patheos and most other websites will not display properly on this version. To better enjoy Patheos and your overall web experience, consider upgrading to the current version of Internet Explorer. Find more information HERE.

Religion Library: Paganism

Sacred Time

Written by: Carl McColman

Ancient Pagan sacred sites, like Stonehenge in England or Newgrange in Ireland, often have an astronomical orientation, with key features of the site oriented toward specific dates of the year. For example, Stonehenge is oriented toward the sunrise of the summer solstice, while the doorway of Newgrange is oriented toward sunrise of the winter solstice. Sites like these suggest not only a high degree of astronomical and architectural sophistication among ancient Pagans, but also imply that the dates like the solstices may have had ritual significance to their cultures.

The Pagan movement that emerged in the 20th century draws on a variety of folkloric, mythological, and archaeological sources to establish its own sense of sacred time. As is always the case among Pagan religions, different traditions often observe different holy days. Wicca (religious witchcraft), the most widely practiced form of Paganism, offers the best example of Pagan sacred time.

Sacred time within Wicca is established by the cycles of the sun and the moon. Lunar cycles occur every 29 to 30 days, while a solar cycle occurs over the course of a year. The key events in a lunar cycle include the new moon and the full moon. Many Wiccan solitaries and groups perform rituals on the nights of the new and full moons, seeing those dates as particularly propitious for venerating the goddess as identified with the moon. Because the duration of menstrual cycles often is equivalent to the lunar month, many Wiccans understand the phases of the moon as symbolically attuned to the "phases" of the menstrual cycle. Thus, the full moon represents ovulation, and signifies a time of fecundity, creativity, and active engagement with the world; the new moon represents menstruation, and therefore is associated with rest and withdrawal from worldly activities for a time of reflection and renewal. Wiccan ceremonies can take these associations into account, with new moon rituals being more contemplative and full moon ceremonies more ecstatic or celebratory.

The solar cycle as observed by many Wiccan groups involves eight holidays, collectively known as "the Wheel of the Year." These holidays include the solstices, the equinoxes, and four seasonal agricultural festivals with roots in British and Irish mythology. The wheel of the year includes these festivals:

  • Samhain, traditionally celebrated on or near October 31
  • Yule, the winter solstice
  • Imbolc, traditionally celebrated on or near February 1
  • Ostara, the spring equinox
  • Beltane, traditionally celebrated on or near May 1
  • Litha, the summer solstice
  • Lughnasadh, traditionally celebrated on or near August 1
  • Mabon, the fall equinox

Several of these festivals have alternative names, sometimes from folkloric or even Christian sources: thus Samhain is also known as Hallowmas or Hallowe'en; Imbolc as Candlemas; Lughnasadh as Lammas; and Mabon as Michaelmas.


Recommended Products