Patheos Watermark

You are running a very outdated version of Internet Explorer. Patheos and most other websites will not display properly on this version. To better enjoy Patheos and your overall web experience, consider upgrading to the current version of Internet Explorer. Find more information HERE.

Religion Library: Taoism

Sacred Space

Written by: Julia Hardy

Sacred space and sacred time are one in Taoism.  The ritual space that is created by the Taoshi symbolizes the cosmos and links heaven and earth.  It is always created just before the ritual begins, whether the ritual takes place outdoors, in the home of a layperson, or inside a temple.  It is a sacred area created for the purpose of the ritual, and then returned to ordinary space at the ritual's end. 

A contemporary ritual structure, used today in southern Taiwan in a Way of the Celestial Masters ritual, begins with a square, each of the four sides representing north, south, east, and west.  The square is divided into an inner and an outer altar, the inner to the north and the outer to the south.  Just within the boundary to the north are hung portraits of the presiding deities.  These may include the Heavenly Worthy of the Primordial Beginning, the Heavenly Worthy of the Numinous Treasure, the Heavenly Worthy of the Way and its Power (the deified Laozi), the Jade Emperor, and the Great Emperor of the Purple Empyrean.  These are the deities of highest rank.

A table located just to the south of these portraits is the Golden Gate, a threshold, and below that is the "cave table," where the heart of the ritual will take place.

Portraits are hung along the east and west boundaries.  Along the west, within the inner altar area, are the gods of earth and hell, and along the east, the gods of heaven and water.  Along the eastern boundary of the outer altar area are portraits of Taoist officers and generals and the Four Saints and along the east, officers and generals and the Six Masters.  The officers and generals include the Mother of Lightning, the Duke of Thunder, the marshals of the four directions, and other martial and protective deities.  The identity of the Four Saints varies; sometimes they are the Emperors of the four directions.  The Six Masters include Zhang Taoling and other Celestial Masters.  These are the mid-ranking deities.

Just within the southern boundary is the Three Realms Table (the Three Realms include various lesser heavens).  Offerings for the popular gods are placed here, and behind it are bleachers on which deities that are brought from people's homes and deities from temples are placed so that they can observe the ritual.  These are the deities of lowest rank.

The officiating priests, including those who recite the liturgies, are located around the cave table, and the musicians are to the east and west.  A few high ranking laypersons may attend, or they may be represented by lanterns hung along the south wall.

The hierarchy of participants, including the gods, is evident in this arrangement.  This hierarchical structure, the titles of the members of the pantheon, and the ritual itself are all elements taken from Han religion, which was based on Shang and Zhou religious practices.


Recommended Products