Book and Movie Projects

Books

3 Gates of the Dead

Publisher: Open Road Media and Audible.com

Date: Released.

Format: Print, Ebook, and Audio

Where? Amazon, Barnes and Noble, Hearts and Minds Books, Powell’s and your local bookstore.

Book Description:

Conflicted with his faith in God and the hypocrisy of the church, Aidan Schaeffer, a young assistant pastor, is in a constant state of spiritual turmoil. When Aidan learns that his ex-fiancée is the first victim in a string of ritualistic killings, he finds himself catapulted into an even deeper fight. Tormented by demonic threats and haunted by spirits, Aidan throws himself into investigating Amanda’s death, all the while supernatural forces have begun to attack the people around him. The more questions he asks, the more he is drawn into the world of a mysterious Anglican priest, a paranormal investigation group and a rogue female detective investigating the murders. As the gruesome rituals escalate, ancient hidden secrets and an evil long buried threaten to rip apart Aidan’s world.

 

Praise for 3 Gates of the Dead

“3 Gates of the Dead is like a Harry Potter novel for adults.”
-Sam Alexander, Dir. of Development, The Wolper Organization at Warner Bros. (Bates Motel, Mists of Avalon)

” Ryan’s first novel skillfully blends theology, murder mystery, horror, and paranormal investigation through one man’s struggle with his belief in God. Solid characterization and a grounding in his subject matter make this series opener a real attraction for fans of The Exorcist and the darker fiction of C.S. Lewis and Charles Williams.”         Starred Review, Library Journal

 

 

Dark Bride, 3 Gates of the Dead Series, Book Two 

Publisher: Open Road Media and Audible.com

Date: November 1st, 2014.

Format: Print, Ebook, and Audio

Where? Book stores and e-book outlets everywhere.

Dark Forces Descend upon Ohio… Following the Grinning Man’s resurrection, strange occurrences plague the city. After discovering a ritualistic animal sacrifice, Jen calls Aidan and Father Neal for help. The Dark Bride is coming… When Father Neal deciphers a Voodoo message with a dire warning, he reveals he is part of the Order of the Five Sorrows: a group dedicated to fighting evil with the use of holy objects present at Christ s crucifixion and Aidan is destined to become a member. The Supernatural Unleashed… Still reeling from Father Neal’s revelation, Aidan assists his friend Brian by investigating a series of unexplained events at his farm, including eerie lights in the fields at night and his daughter s fixation with an invisible friend. After women with mysterious powers appear, who are hunting down a witch from the 1600s, the group embarks on a perilous journey to destroy the Dark Bride before the Grinning Man s true purpose can come to pass . . . but they will be drawn into a horrific battle that some will not survive.

You Can Pre-Order at Amazon, Barnes and Noble, and Hearts and Minds Book Store.

 

Revolution of the Wolf (A new adult Trilogy in the vein of The Hunger Games, Zorro and Batman) 

Now under contract with a publisher to be released in 2015. Details coming soon.

The Ghost Bear (A children’s book series in the vein of The Chronicles of Narnia and A Wrinkle in Time) 

Now under contract with a publisher to be released in 2015. Details coming soon.

Nonfiction

Among Friends (Co-written with Father Jim Sichko and Chas Allen)

Publisher: Premier Digital Publishing

Date: April 1st, 2014

Pre-Order: Amazon, Barnes and Noble, Hearts and Minds Books.

Book Description: “This book is my Midrash.”

With these words, Father Jim draws us into his life story full of laughter, tears, and service. Among Friends is a compilation of short stories and insightful lessons experienced on his many travels as a clergyman and motivational speaker. Whether recounting his sobering flying experiences, meeting the Pope, his encounter with the “Weed Man” or telling us about his “lead foot,” Father Jim teaches us lessons through powerful storytelling. As he takes us along on his journey from getting kicked out of seminary to hosting celebrities, such as Dolly Parton, Harry Connick Jr., Martin Short, Bill Cosby, and former First Lady Laura Bush, at his small Kentucky parish, Father Jim shines a light into the corners of the human heart to expose our need for God and the love He alone can give us. You will laugh, cry, and be taken back by his honesty. In all, Father Jim shows us what it means to love God, love others, and live life Among Friends.

 

 

 

 

Movies

 

 Cottonwood-Associate Producer, Mark Campbell Productions

Website

Facebook

 

I’ve just been recently named as the associate producer for this amazing film. Here is the synopsis:

Sometimes, doing the wrong thing is the right thing.

In 1930′s depression era Texas, a massive dust storm descends as Sheriff Rube Whitlock buries his daughter who died from “dust pneumonia,” and his wife falls into a deep depression. He hires a local black woman, Esther, to take care of the house just as a black teenager is almost beaten to death. Racial tensions build as PV, the housekeeper’s husband, buys an extra mule to help with his cotton planting, which is considered a white man’s crop, and Rube stirs the white community further as he investigates the beating of the young black boy.

As racist forces, led by local troublemaker Orville “Guppy” Walters, step up their campaign of terror to intimidate the black community, a tragedy strikes, and the kindling is set for Rube’s whole dust dry county to go up in flames. Forced to choose between legal boundaries and moral convictions, Rube must come to terms with personal tragedy, save his family, and decide how to protect his new found friend.

Status: Pre-Production and under consideration by major studios for distribution.

 

3 Gates of the Dead-One of the Executive Producers. 

See above book description

Status: Announcement to be made in the next two weeks concerning production.

 

 

Amanda-Associate Producer, and Screenwriter with Michael Harrison, Mark Campbell Productions.

Description: Coming Soon.

Status: Rewriting script, studios interested in the project.

 

 

 

 

 

For more information, check out Jonathan Ryan’s website or contact his agent, Italia Gandolfo at Gandolfo/Helin Literary Management


CLOSE | X

HIDE | X