A Charlie Brown Christmas Podcast

Nuclearity has just posted a very special podcast. I had the privilege of contributing to this, but that’s not why I’m linking to it. I was moved as I listened to a wide variety of people share their views on why A Charlie Brown Christmas stands apart as a treasure of holiday storytelling.

Take a few minutes and listen to this remarkable program.

[2013 UPDATE: The recording has been moved to this location.]

The other guests include:

  • Robert Short, author of The Gospel According to Peanuts
  • CeCe Winans, recording artist
  • David Crowder, recording artist
  • Article One, recording artists
  • Linford Detweiler, recording artist with the group Over the Rhine
  • Phil Vischer, animator, author of Me, Myself and Bob
  • Steven James and David Thomas, authors of Yup. Nope. Maybe and Does This This Dress Make me Look Fat?
  • Carolyn McCulley, author of Did I Kiss Marriage Goodbye?
  • Beth Maynard, author of Get up off Your Knees
  • Mark Pinsky, author of The Gospel According to Disney
  • Don Bluth, animator
  • Dick Staub, author of The Culturally Savvy Christian
  • Kelly Monroe Kullberg, editor of Finding God at Harvard
  • Facebook
This Is Not Goodbye. But It is... See You Elsewhere!
What Specialists Are Saying About Jurassic World
A New Conversation with Pete Horner, Sound Designer for Jurassic World
Torres and the Influence of David Bazan and Terrence Malick
About Jeffrey Overstreet

Jeffrey Overstreet has two passions: writing fiction, and celebrating art — music, cinema, photography, literature — through writing and teaching. He is the author of a “memoir of dangerous moviegoing” — Through a Screen Darkly. And his four-novel fantasy series, The Auralia Thread, which begins with Auralia's Colors, was published by Random House. He speaks at universities and conferences around the world about understanding art through eyes of faith. He is earning his MFA in Creative Writing at Seattle Pacific University, where he has worked for 11 years as an editor, writer, and communications project manager. His work has been recognized in The New Yorker, TIME, The Seattle Times, IMAGE, Ravi Zacharias International — and Christianity Today, where he served as a film journalist for more than a decade. He recently began a weekly column called "Listening Closer" for Christ and Pop Culture.

  • http://www.truffin.com tctruffin

    Boy, you can sure tell how much influence the media has over perception. When I read your description, my brain turned “podcast” into “protest.” I then spent a few moments wondering why anyone would protest old Chuck. I blame the near ubiquitous fervor over a certain fantasy movie that folks are talking way too much about.

  • http://www.expanded-universe.com expandeduniverse

    I think I’ve listened to too many podcast interview with you. I can pick out the voice. :-)


CLOSE | X

HIDE | X