A Charlie Brown Christmas Podcast

Nuclearity has just posted a very special podcast. I had the privilege of contributing to this, but that’s not why I’m linking to it. I was moved as I listened to a wide variety of people share their views on why A Charlie Brown Christmas stands apart as a treasure of holiday storytelling.

Take a few minutes and listen to this remarkable program.

[2013 UPDATE: The recording has been moved to this location.]

The other guests include:

  • Robert Short, author of The Gospel According to Peanuts
  • CeCe Winans, recording artist
  • David Crowder, recording artist
  • Article One, recording artists
  • Linford Detweiler, recording artist with the group Over the Rhine
  • Phil Vischer, animator, author of Me, Myself and Bob
  • Steven James and David Thomas, authors of Yup. Nope. Maybe and Does This This Dress Make me Look Fat?
  • Carolyn McCulley, author of Did I Kiss Marriage Goodbye?
  • Beth Maynard, author of Get up off Your Knees
  • Mark Pinsky, author of The Gospel According to Disney
  • Don Bluth, animator
  • Dick Staub, author of The Culturally Savvy Christian
  • Kelly Monroe Kullberg, editor of Finding God at Harvard
  • Facebook
About Jeffrey Overstreet

Jeffrey Overstreet is the author of a “memoir of dangerous moviegoing” called Through a Screen Darkly, and a four-volume series of fantasy novels called The Auralia Thread, which includes Auralia’s Colors, Cyndere’s Midnight, Raven’s Ladder, and The Ale Boy’s Feast. Jeffrey is a contributing editor for Seattle Pacific University’s Response magazine, and he writes about art, faith, and culture for Image, Filmwell, and his own website, LookingCloser.org. His work has also appeared in Paste, Relevant, Books and Culture, and Christianity Today (where he was a film columnist and critic for almost a decade). He lives in Shoreline, Washington. Visit him on Facebook at facebook.com/jeffreyoverstreethq.

  • http://www.truffin.com tctruffin

    Boy, you can sure tell how much influence the media has over perception. When I read your description, my brain turned “podcast” into “protest.” I then spent a few moments wondering why anyone would protest old Chuck. I blame the near ubiquitous fervor over a certain fantasy movie that folks are talking way too much about.

  • http://www.expanded-universe.com expandeduniverse

    I think I’ve listened to too many podcast interview with you. I can pick out the voice. :-)


CLOSE | X

HIDE | X