Taurus: the coming of the judge

Taurus: the coming of the judge April 20, 2019

Taurus (April 20-May 20) is the first of the last section of God’s Zodiac (Taurus, Gemini, Cancer and Leo), which tells the story of the Reigning Redeemer who delivered his people from sin. Taurus, the judge, points to Jesus’s second-coming and ultimate rule. (The first group (Virgo, Libra, Scorpio, and Sagittarius) tells the story of Jesus the suffering savior; the second (Capricorn, Aquarius, Pisces and Aries) points to the glorified redeemer.)

Joseph Augustus Seiss, whose work helps provide the basis for this series, explains, “the blessedness set forth in the scriptures we also find in the constellations, and more especially in the sign of the zodiac.”

The main star of Taurus is found in the head of a bull in line with Orion’s belt. Taurus, the rushing bull with horns pointing upward, is the sign of coming judgment. God’s people will be delivered from evil and avenged.

The name of the star in the bull’s eye is Al Debaran, which means “the governor, captain, leader.” The bright star at the tip of the left horn is called Elnath, which means the wounded, reminding us that Jesus, the coming ruler was “wounded for our transgressions.”

Taurus’ three Decans are Orion, Eridanus, and Auriga.

Orion was celebrated by Job and mentioned by the Greek writer Homer, described as the great hunter, “who cometh forth as light, the Brilliant, the Swift.” Job describes Orion as invincibly girded, whose bands no one can unloose. In Jeremiah 16:16-18 we learn of a description of the great hunter, Seiss notes.

Orion is located on the equator and is one of the most recognizable constellations in the night sky.

On his right shoulder is Betelguese, a star of the first magnitude. It means “the branch coming.” On his left foot is Rigel, a star of the first magnitude, which means “the foot that crusheth.”On his belt are three brilliant stars called, “The three kings” or “Jacob’s rod.” The depictions are a foreshadowing of Jesus, Seiss argues. He also points to Isaiah 11:5 description of Jesus: “Righteousness shall be the girdle of his loins, and faithfulness the girdle of his reigns.”

The second Decan, Eridanus, means “the river of the judge.” Seiss connects this river to several Old Testament teachings: 1) Daniel’s vision in 7:9-11 of the four beasts and God’s judgement of them, 2) Isaiah’s description of God having a “tongue as a devouring fire, his breath s an overflowing stream of fire” (Isa. 30:27-33; 66:15,16), and in God’s condemnation of Ninevah in Nahum 1: 5,6.

The prophet Nahum said, “Who can withstand his indignation? Who can endure his fierce anger? His wrath is poured out like fire.” But Nahum also provided encouragement: “The Lord is good, a refuge in times of trouble. He cares for those who trust in him.” (Nah. 1:7)

The New Testament also speaks to Jesus, the Son of Man, ruling on his throne and his enemies will be burned with fire. “The River of Fire, issuing from before Taurus and Orion, shall receive them and burn them up in unquenchable flames,” Seiss writes. The second death is described in Revelation 20, with the judgement of the Lake of Fire.

But judgement points to righteousness, Seiss argues, citing Isaiah 26:9: “When your judgments come upon the earth, the people of the world learn righteousness.”

The third Decan, Auriga, depicts a shepherd holding a mother goat and her two babies.

Auriga is nearly the same size as Orion and can be seen in the sky on winter nights.

It represents mercy in judgment. After the raging bull and river and lake of fire, Seiss explains, Auriga depicts “a picture of the exalted and almighty savior, still exercising his offices of mercy and salvation in the midst of the scenes of judgment, just as the scriptures tell us that in the midst of wrath he remembers mercy. (Hab.3:2)”

Capella, the chief star in the constellation marks the heart of the mother goat. She and her kids are scared but they are safe in the arms of the shepherd. The story told is that God rules, rescues his own from evil, and gathers and protects them like a shepherd.

Seiss notes that Auriga holds a scepter, the upper part shows the head of a lamb and the lower part a figure of the cross, whereby salvation is expressed through the act of sovereign judgment. The symbol is that of Jesus, the sacrificial lamb who will come again to execute judgment.

Those born in the age of Taurus can find hope in the coming of the judge who will right all wrongs.

Learn more about “God’s Zodiac: The Gospel in the Stars.”

Browse Our Archives