Goofy Baseball Rule

"Or it could Be that you pedophile riddled death cult, that has infected the world ..."

The Death Of The Church: 1
"I would argue that we have freedom here both for the reasons you have stated ..."

"In general terms, I think the solution is something along the lines of recognizing the ..."

Death of the Church 3
"A few years back Florida was hit by a number of hurricanes, one right after ..."

Death of the Church 3

Browse Our Archives

Follow Us!

What Are Your Thoughts?leave a comment
  • As a former umpire, I can tell you that one of the hardest plays to call is when two runners wind up on the same base. It’s especially difficult because it’s an obscure rule that you’ve rarely got to call, which makes it even harder to remember.

  • scotmcknight

    Tony, I thought you might speak up about this one… I’ve read the rules book a number of times and I agree: two baserunners at one base gets confusing. Everything happens in an instant and it’s so unfamiliar that what to call can be confusing. I was waiting for someone to say one can’t return “home” because “home” isn’t a base but home.

  • Darrin Snyder Belousek


    I just looked up the official rules. The umpire called it correctly in ruling out Braun, the following runner, who was tagged while occupying second base concurrently with Segura, the preceding runner, according to Rule 7.03:

    “7.03 (a) Two runners may not occupy a base, but if, while the ball is alive, two runners are
    touching a base, the following runner shall be out when tagged and the preceding
    runner is entitled to the base…” (The exception to this rule applies when the following runner is forced to advance because the batter has become a runner, which was not the case here.)

    The commentators, however, stated the matter incorrectly in saying that Braun was automatically out because he had passed Segura. Had Braun passed Segura before Segura was out, then Braun would have been out on that account [Rule 7.08 (h)]; but, in fact, Braun had not passed Segura–they were simply on the same base (and, in fact, Braun reached second based before Segura did).

    So, Braun is out, Segura is safe at second base under Rule 7.03 (a).

    Now for the really interesting question: Was Segura entitled to return to first base after Braun was tagged out at second base? Here’s the applicable rule:

    “7.01 A runner acquires the right to an unoccupied base when he touches it before he is
    out. He is then entitled to it until he is put out, or forced to vacate it for another runner
    legally entitled to that base.”

    This, by itself, doesn’t settle the matter because at the time Segura returned to first base it was not occupied and no other runner was entitled to it. But the follow-up comment in the rules does, it seems to me, settle the matter:

    “Rule 7.01 Comment: If a runner legally acquires title to a base, and the pitcher assumes his pitching position, the runner may not return to a previously occupied base.”

    Based on this comment, once Segura had advanced from first base to second base on a steal and the pitcher had assumed his position on the very next pitch, Segura had forfeited his right to return to first base. The commentators got it wrong again: you cannot go backwards and retake a base previously occupied once you have advanced bases and play continues.

    So, Segura, could have been tagged out while back at first base because he was occupying a base to which he was not entitled.

    Applying a different rule, the umpires might also have called him out for running back to first base:

    “7.08 A runner is out when–

    (i) After he has acquired legal possession of a base, he runs the bases in reverse order
    for the purpose of confusing the defense or making a travesty of the game. The
    umpire shall immediately call “Time” and declare the runner out.”

    One might argue that, by running back to first, Segura was attempting to confuse the defense (though he looked more confused than anyone out there!), such that the umpire could rule him out automatically.

    Again: Wacky!