Carrie Underwood Returns to Gospel Music Roots with ‘My Savior’

Carrie Underwood Returns to Gospel Music Roots with ‘My Savior’ February 18, 2021

Country music superstar Carrie Underwood is scheduled to release her full-length gospel music debut, “My Savior,” on March 26. The seven-time GRAMMY Award-winner has previously performed songs of faith, such as the anthem “Something in the Water,” her breakout hit, “Jesus, Take the Wheel” and classic hymns “How Great Thou Art” and “Softly and Tenderly” during country music award shows.

Carrie Underwood photo by Jeff Johnson, courtesy of Full Coverage Communications.

“This is an album I have always wanted to record,” Underwood said. “When I set out to choose these songs, I wanted to include the beautiful, familiar hymns I grew up singing in church. There are several songs I have performed in the past, like ‘Softly And Tenderly,’ ‘How Great Thou Art’ and ‘Amazing Grace’ that mean so much to me and I knew immediately we needed to record for the album.  This music shaped who I am as a person and is the foundation of my career as a recording artist.  I feel so blessed to get to share these songs with generations of people who love them as I do, as well as others who might be experiencing them for the first time.”

Underwood recruited special Christian music guests CeCe Winans and Bear Rinehart of NEEDTOBREATHE on the songs “Great is Thy Faithfulness” and “Nothing But the Blood of Jesus.” Additionally, musicians on the project include Buddy Greene, Gordon Mote, Mac McAnally, and Brett James, who wrote “Jesus, Take the Wheel.”

In the fall, Underwood dropped another faith-fueled project, the Christmas collection “My Gift.”

“It’s been such a blessing to make music like this, inspirational music that is near and dear to my heart,” she said.  “These two albums have been on my musical bucket list since the beginning of my career and were planned long before the events of the past year, but somehow it feels like the perfect time to share these beloved songs with the world.”

The full tracklisting for “My Savior” is:

  1. Jesus Loves Me (instrumental)
  2. Nothing But The Blood Of Jesus
  3. Blessed Assurance
  4. Just As I Am
  5. Victory In Jesus
  6. Great Is Thy Faithfulness (featuring CeCe Winans)
  7. O How I Love Jesus
  8. How Great Thou Art
  9. Because He Lives
  10. The Old Rugged Cross
  11. I Surrender All
  12. Softly And Tenderly
  13. Amazing Grace

“My Savior” will release on CD and digital on March 26, 2021, and on vinyl on April 30.

Watch a special promo for “My Savior” below:

Browse Our Archives

Follow Us!

Close Ad